How to reduce CPU load?

General questions about iSpy
Swirnoff
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 3:29 am

How to reduce CPU load?

Postby Swirnoff » Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:13 pm

When configuring camera settings in iSpy, which settings would substantially increase CPU load?

The reason I'm asking:
I'm running iSpy on a Surface Pro tablet in a case which prevents adequate ventilation, especially over an extended period of time. I find that iSpy tends to crash repeatedly (automatically relaunches) when left running, especially on hotter days.

Which settings can I downgrade in iSpy to help keep the tablet cooler?

ian.roycroft
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 10:08 am

Re: How to reduce CPU load?

Postby ian.roycroft » Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:33 pm

There are several techniques I use to decrease CPU load, you'll actually be supprised how accurate the recordings are even though PC response is practically zero.

Firstly, disable all camera settings you will not be using, motion detection takes up some CPU power so its important to disable if you are not using it. Plugins also take up CPU power.

Secondly, redude resolution and fps to the ones you want, the more fps the more cpu time.

Thirdly, changing the recording file type will drastically decrease load, the default recording format is mp4 which takes up a lot of CPU load to encode, choosing AVI Uncompressed will prevent encoding conpletely but will leave very large video files. I haven't tested, but reducing or increasing quality should have an inpact, give them a play.

Lastly, you will gain 20% less program strain if you minimise the program while it is working, it does not process the camera views while the program is minimised so this is a very good thing.

RiaanS
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 6:07 pm

Re: How to reduce CPU load?

Postby RiaanS » Thu Sep 25, 2014 10:01 am

None of these are really practical to do.

ian.roycroft wrote:There are several techniques I use to decrease CPU load, you'll actually be supprised how accurate the recordings are even though PC response is practically zero.

Firstly, disable all camera settings you will not be using, motion detection takes up some CPU power so its important to disable if you are not using it. Plugins also take up CPU power.


I'm guessing most of the users are using motion detection. How else are you supposed to do it? Leaving recording on 24/7 will use even more of the CPU.

ian.roycroft wrote:Secondly, redude resolution and fps to the ones you want, the more fps the more cpu time.


People buy HD cameras because they need better quality. What's the point of reducing the resolution, then you might as well go and buy cheap low res cameras.

ian.roycroft wrote:Thirdly, changing the recording file type will drastically decrease load, the default recording format is mp4 which takes up a lot of CPU load to encode, choosing AVI Uncompressed will prevent encoding conpletely but will leave very large video files. I haven't tested, but reducing or increasing quality should have an inpact, give them a play.


Using mp4 for recording actually works out better here. You can set the fps to 1fps while monitoring, but then set it to like 15fps when recording. So while it's monitoring it won't use a lot of CPU, only when recording. This option doesn't work with other formats. If you set it to 1fps for monitoring, it will record at 1fps. So you have to leave that permanently higher, which takes up more CPU power if it's done on multiple cameras.

ian.roycroft wrote:Lastly, you will gain 20% less program strain if you minimise the program while it is working, it does not process the camera views while the program is minimised so this is a very good thing.


I tested this on 2 pc's, doesn't make a difference in CPU usage on either for me.

User avatar
sporn
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 4:21 am
Contact:

Re: How to reduce CPU load?

Postby sporn » Wed Oct 01, 2014 2:12 am


Drill
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:33 pm

Re: How to reduce CPU load?

Postby Drill » Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:42 pm

I had to reduce CPU load because we have many cameras here and iSpy would crash every now and then. I did everything I read in this and other forums online, but no configuration would make any difference and iSpy would keep throwing APPCRASH exception. Good news is I solved this problem by installing VLC and using its plugin for each camera video source. With 5 or 10 camera objects, the CPU load remained the same, around 50%. Hope this works for you guys!

Drill
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:33 pm

Re: How to reduce CPU load?

Postby Drill » Fri Feb 17, 2017 12:29 pm

Unfortunately, it didn't take long until it crashed again... I don´t know what happened, but iSpy started to crash twice to four times a day... At least it got better than crashing 3 to 5 times an hour!!!

After some research, though, I decided to add some arguments to VLC plugin that fit the case:

--rtsp-caching=100
--ffmpeg-hw
--rtsp-tcp

I don't know why but it kinda worked... Till it crashed again :lol:
However, it crashes every one and a half day... That's progress!!! Since some arguments, like ffmpeg-hw, may decrease performance, I'm trying other variations and will get back to you as soon as my experiment provides positive results. ;)


Return to “Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests